The Artistic Soprano

This is one of a series of posts about books used as source material for Art Song Central.

Collection Title: The Artistic Soprano; A collection of standard ballads and arias by celebrated composers
Publisher: M. Witmark & Sons
Copyright: 1908

A complete version is available for download via Google Books: The Artistic Soprano and another is available via the Internet Archive: The Artistic Soprano.

Contents: (Title, followed by composer)

  • Carmena H. Lane Wilson
  • Je Suis Titania C. L. Ambroise Thomas
  • Sérénade Charles Gounod
  • Berceuse de Jocelyn (entitled “Lullaby” in this collection) Benjamin Godard
  • Sérénade Gabriel Pierné
  • Je veux vivre dans le rêve Charles Gounod
  • Sans Toi Guy d’Hardelot
  • Si mes vers avaient des ailes! Reynaldo Hahn
  • Just You – And I Frank E. Tours
  • Villanelle Eva Dell’Acqua
  • Chanson provençale Eva Dell’Acqua
  • Wenn die Rosen blühen Luise Reichardt
  • Stars of the Summer Night Berthold Tours
  • O Loving Heart, Trust On Louis Moreau Gottschalk
  • Love Me To-day; To-morrow May Never Come Ernest R. Ball
  • Snow-Flakes Frederic H. Cowen
  • When Love is Kind “Old Melody arranged by A. L.”
  • Er liebt nur mich allein Carl Eckert
  • Sehnsucht Halfdan Kjerulf
  • Oft in the Stilly Night Arr. by Sir John Andrew Stevenson

The engraving on this edition is well done, though all of the songs are presented with English above and the original language (when not English) below and in italics. Aside from that, the quality of the edition is unclear at this time. The selection appears to be favorite showpieces of some of the great sopranos of the period, and contains an interesting mix of now familiar standards and pieces long fallen out of favor.