Six Songs by Dr. John Blow

This is one of a series of posts about books used as source material for Art Song Central.

Book Title: Six Songs by Dr. John Blow; selected from the Amphion Angelicus, 1700.
Editor: Godfrey Edward Pellew Arkwright (1864-1944)
Publisher: Joseph Williams and James Parker & Co.
Copyright: 1900

Google Books has a complete edition of Six Songs by Dr. John Blow available for download.


  • The Fair Lover and his Black Mistress
  • Flavia grown Old
  • Rise mighty Monarch
  • The Self-banished
  • What is’t to us
  • Shepherds deck your Crooks